Simplicity

I don’t know about you but sometimes I get caught up in all the fun embellishments, techniques, sparkles, the this and the that of paper crafting.  Don’t get me wrong…all those things are very fun.  But sometimes simple is really good.  Like this card.

Simple card layout using photograph as focal

I made this card for my yoga teacher who lost her father last week.  Honestly, I don’t know her very well except for her weekly Tuesday night attempt to get me to put my body into positions that I’m pretty sure are not humanly possible.   However, I wanted her to know that I was thinking of her and her family at this difficult time.

I wanted simple and no fuss.  I like what I came up with.  I also love how this shows that you don’t need to invest in rubber stamps to create something amazing.  I think the best investment you can make when you first start creating cards is a good sentiment stamp set a brown or black ink pad and good cardstock.  That is all it takes.

(Just a note, the photograph of the flower is actually from my photographer friend’s collection.  She gave me a sampling of flower prints that I keep in my stash.  You can easily recreate this.  All you need is some simple photos of scenery, flowers, still life, etc and then using your photo editing software (I use Artisian by Panstoria) put multiple photos into a single 4 x 6 size.  You can size the photos on that 4 x 6 size however you want, have it printed and then just cut them apart to use on your crafts.  Here is an example.

photo template

This is just a 4 x 6 photo with several photos on it.    Once I have this printed I can cut the smaller photos out and use them in a variety of ways in my paper crafts.  Try it!  Print out a couple copies and keep them on hand for when you need a quick yet wonderful card to give.

 

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Other Stamping Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simplicity

  1. Sandy says:

    Very pretty card Jodi. I’m sure the recipient appreciated your thoughtfulness.

Leave a Reply

