Make it Mine Week 25

I’m sure this is common.  I find that generally when I purchase a new pack of patterned paper (Designer Series Paper – DSP) there is always at least one sheet that I look at and wrinkle my nose.  I think, what in the world would I do with that print, those colors, that style….etc.     Then I tend to avoid using it because the other pieces are soooo much better.  Do you do that too?

Well such is the case with the new Color Me Autumn DSP from the Holiday Catalog.  I love all things fall so of course I had to order that pack of paper!  I eagerly looked through the sheets at all the fabulous patterns in colors such as Cajun Craze, Crushed Curry, Mossy Meadow, Blackberry Bliss, Soft Suede….does it just sound yummy?  And then I came to this….

???????????????????????????????

{insert wrinkled nose}

Now I love a good acorn as much as the next person, but this isn’t even a cute mini acorn print.  These acorns are as big as the tip of my finger….see!

???????????????????????????????

Well, for me this was the sheet that I figured was a lost cause.  My first thought was to ignore it and use the nice water color green on the back only.  Then I though…no…you are going to force yourself to use it today for the Make it Mine Challenge.  GASP!

So here we go.

There was no sketch for the Make it Mine Challenge this week.  Susan either forgot to add it to her blog post or she just made it up.  Either way this was Susan’s rendition:

MIM25Susan

 

(see where I’m going with the acorn print?)

I fiddled with that paper a bit but I think I have to admit that I actually like it.  Paired with some rich solid colors to mellow those crazy acorns out a bit, it actually looks quite stunning!  I used the companion stamp set “For All Things” as well as the coordinating Washi Tape (which I’m never going to buy) – Color Me Autumn.  I tried to put my own flair on the design but ended up following it pretty much to a tee.  I attempted to replace the circles with leaves but that didn’t work.  Then I tried to make some little punch art acorns…trust me…you don’t want to see that one!  The circles just work.  So here it is!

For All Things Hello Fall

I even used a bit more to decorate the envelope too.  I considered lining the whole envelope with the acorns (just to use more of it!) but that would probably be a bit of acorn overkill.

Ok.  I did it.  Now it is your turn to challenge yourself by using that piece of pattern paper that makes your nose wrinkle!  I’d love to see the photos of your projects (and that doesn’t mean a photo of it going through the paper shredder!)

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Make it Mine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

