Crafting Maniac!

Wow…what a week.  My posts have been very sparse to say the least but I can assure you that I have not been slacking on the crafting front.  I think I finally made a break through on my project backlog….so many crafts…so little time.  I have a few things to share with you today.  So sit back and enjoy.

First up, my weekend retreat.  It was last weekend and it was so much fun but of course it always ends too soon.  I had wild and crazy plans for getting some things done and I probably touched about half of that plan.

The little welcome goodies for the guest were a simple sourcream container filled with Mike & Ikes.  These are fun to make and only take a 6 x 6 piece of paper.  Just roll it into a tube and pinch/adhere the ends in opposite ways.  Add a little embellishment and ta da.  So cute.  Everyone loved them.

Sour Cream container

I made the tag with with the retired SU tag punch.  I just fed a long trip through the punch and used the negative as the end of the tag.  I sponged them with some grey ink to make them appear old/worn to match the paper I had.  Then I stamped them with a couple of Halloween images (shhh…non SU images).   Added the spider punch (old CM punch) to top it off.

At the retreat I did get through two goals.  First I completed my Paper Pumpkin kit from September in time to give the goodies to little misses day care team.  These came together so quick and so cute.  I just dropped a Kit Kat bar inside, tied them up and ta da!  Six wonderful little goodies to give.

Paper Pumpkin Sept

Secondly I always send my Paper Pumpkin subscribers a little goodie each quarter to thank them for enjoying and sharing Paper Pumpkin with me.  This quarter I did up a little note pad in fall colors.  Added their monogram and a little leaf print (Yes, I stamped the leaf on every single page!).  Many of my Paper pumpkin gals were at the retreat so they got their bonus goodie right then.  The others….I’ll get out very soon.

Note Pad Gifts

 

(The note pads are simply 5 x 7 office pads cut in half.  Kinkos/Fed Ex Office will cut them for a small fee).

I also managed to get quite a few digital scrapbook pages done as well but that is very much where I fell short on my goal for the weekend.

My project list for this past week was and still is very long and I can only share a few of those with you today.  Others related to my upcoming Envelope Punch Board Class which is this week.  I don’t want to give the fun away for those that are attending and that follow my blog.  I’ll be sure to post them after the class.  Oh, I’m so excited about that silly punch board.  I can’t wait to share the fun creations and resources I’ve found.

Until then I do have the Paper Pumpkin “bonus” ideas to share.  I have to say that this months Paper Pumpkin wasn’t one of my favorites on the surface.  However, after playing with it a bit and knowing I had a commitment to my subscribers to come up with some out of the box ideas, I’m liking it more and more.  I’m pretty sure I’ll be using most of the kit as it was originally intended.  It is just  a fun little project and I think will generate some fun smiles around the Thanksgiving holiday.

Normally I don’t share my Paper Pumpkin bonus ideas on my blog but this time I’m making an exception.  I know a lot of people are interested in Paper Pumpkin and I want to be sure that everyone sees how versatile the kits can be with a little imagination, coaching from Pinterest and just sometimes a little lucky mistake :-).  Personally my favorite thing about Paper Pumpkin is that it encourages me to try new things and create projects I’m quite sure I would have never created without it.  It gets me out of my crafting “norm” which is always good.

I started off making the prescribed project with the kit.  Easy enough (ok the Pom Pom was a little painful but I got it down by the third one).  Isn’t it just silly and sweet?  They all look great sitting next to each other.  Just little pieces of pie filled with goodies.

Paper Pumpkin Oct 2014

 

Then I started playing with the box, turning it, standing it up…what else can this be?  I had a lot of ideas but only executed on a few.  First my holiday elf….

Paper Pumpkin Oct 2014 Elf

This was inspired by a similar project I’ve made in years past using the Petal Cone Die.  This uses a few different punches and an embossing folder to bring this little guy to life.  See how the box acts as his pointed hat?   How clever! 🙂

Then I realized that the box could also be a tree….I tried a variety of “trimmings” but couldn’t get it just right so I opted to go the route of leaving the box rustic and putting the ribbon/banner on the top of the tree.  Then I realized that it would be fun to use the box as a gift box for something like a pair of gloves or even a holiday ornament.  Something fun that would add interest/color through a little window opening.  Using my oval framelets I cut the opening in the center of the “tree” and added a piece of transparency to the inside.  Now I just need to find something fun to put inside and it is ready to go under the tree.  Actually I think I’ll add a ribbon hanger and it can hang on a tree branch!!!  oooh…maybe even putting a gift card inside!

Paper Pumpkin Oc 2014 Tree

Next my piece of “Pie” turned into a piece of “cake”….I’ve seen this idea with other box shapes on Pinterest.  It needs a little work but you can see where I’m headed with it.  Love that Spiral Flower die for the roses!

Paper Pumpkin Oct 2014 Cake SidePaper Pumpkin Oct 2014 Cake Side

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My last idea which I didn’t execute on was to use the box as a sports themed banner.  I’ll keep thinking on that one.  It is the perfect shape!

I then moved away from the box and focused on the feather die cuts that are included in the kit.  There are a lot of them.  Here are my creations.   The feather wreath is my favorite.  In the other samples I added texture to the feathers by using an embossing folder on the “thankful for you” card and I used the Gorgeous Grunge striped stamp on the “Happy Birthday”.  I also turned the leaf over and inked it up in gold and did another with gold glitter.

??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

The gold glitter card I completely coped from pinterest at this link.  Pretty good knock off with those little feathers!

Lastly I prepped some little Halloween goodies to give my co-workers with the supplies left over from the September Paper Pumpkin kits.  Just a few tootsie rolls in the SU mini bags and sealed with a tag.  Simple, fun and most of all…DONE!

Paper Pumpkin Sept 2014 tags

See…I’ve been a busy bee!

This week is filled with my Envelope Punch board classes as well as my second Diva Day event (So many thanks for all you who have enjoyed SU classes and products that allowed me to earn my way to Diva Day!)  so look for some fun photos and posts to come soon.  (What is Diva Day?  I posted about the first one at the link)

As always let me know if you have any questions about my projects.  I’m always happy to share!

 

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Paper Pumpkin, Stampin Up Only. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

