Just a Few Punched Trees

Well….I’m not sure it was my favorite project but they turned out pretty cute.  The photo makes them look very bright but they are more muted in real life.  The trees are punched out of Garden Green and the garland is from the Trim the Tree paper stack.  Garden Green, Cherry Cobbler…very traditional Christmas!

???????????????????????????????

I got the idea from Pinterest (of course) and actually there is another example in the Stampin’ Up holiday catalog as well.  The instructions seemed easy enough……Cone forms, a few tree punches, blah blah blah.

???????????????????????????????

I learned a few lessons on the first one (small tree) which I actually ended up redoing twice!  At the end of the day though I realized that the ol’ glue gun is the best option for putting paper to Styrofoam.  If I was to do this project again I think I’d try using paper Mache forms instead.  The Styrofoam was tricky to find the right “stick”.  Also, these forms had an abrupt ending to the top…so I had to get creative to make the tree come to a point vs. just a flat top.

Try as I might I couldn’t figure out how to sew the 1/2 circles for the stringed garland…so I resorted to twine and glue.  This was a little tedious but for some reason I could have kept punching and gluing for hours.

???????????????????????????????

 

I’m off to a Stampin’ Up holiday party tonight and we are doing a gift exchange.  I’m giving these little whimsical paper trees.  I hope the recipient enjoys them.

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Stampin Up Only. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just a Few Punched Trees

  1. Pingback: Holiday Team Party Follow Up | Crafting in the Corner

  2. Pingback: SU Holiday Party Swap | Crafting in the Corner

Leave a Reply

