Fun Card Front

I’ve done this card front style a few times now and I’m always impressed with the result.  I like both the dimension and the clean lines of it.

??????????????????????????????? ???????????????????????????????

The second photo above shows the dimension.  There are a lot of dimensionals under that first layer.

To get this effect I cut the front panel of my card at 3 1/4 x 5 1/4.  Then with the short side at the top of my cutting tool I sliced the panel at 1″.  That gives me about a 3/4″ gap when I lay the two pieces of the panel on my card front.  The DSP in the “window” is 1″ wide.

While I was creating the sentiment banner I thought it would be good to share a little trick.  I had this trick at my card club last month and even my experienced members were challenged with this idea.

I use the banner punch….it is probably one of my most used punches.  Of course it is cute for little banners.  But it is great for making quick flag/banner strips too.  Since I use my punch for this purpose a lot I wrote down the width of the paper that fits “into” the punch directly on the bottom of my punch itself.  I was constantly measuring each time I wanted to do this trick and finally I got smart and just wrote it down.

???????????????????????????????

The width of paper that fits “into” the punch is just slightly less than 5/8″

To create the longer banner strip with the notch at the end you feed the paper “into” the punch from the bottom.  So it looks like this:

???????????????????????????????

By doing this you are only using the notch end of the punch itself.  The result is this:

???????????????????????????????

Of course you can do this on the other end too if you want a double notched strip.

Now you are going to want to have the banner punch in your supplies!


About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Stampin Up Only. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

