Graduation Assignment

A dear friend of mine requested some help with cards for her friends and family.  I had to tease about her request.  She gave me tidbits about each person that would be receiving the cards and why.  I felt like I had been given my college graduation assignment.  I love assignments where paper crafting is involved!  Since this wasn’t a Stampin’ Up project, I decided to use an assortment of products.  I have collected so many wonderful things over the years before Stampin’ Up  that it was nice to have a purpose to use them!

First off a baby card.  I was told it was for a baby boy.  I’ve had this one in my stash for a while and I think it is just sweet.  This one is made all from Stampin’ Up products and even a part of a former Paper Pumpkin kit.

DSCN3876

Then there was a birthday card for a “best friend”…actually she said her “oldest friend” which means she’s known her for the longest….so I’m assuming a really good friend :-).  She specifically remembered a sentiment from the Painted Petals set so again this card is using just Stampin’ Up supplies.  I went with a simple one layer card which is contradictory to the request for something with texture….I tried to add some other texture but I don’t think it needs it with those fabulous colors!

DSCN3875

Then a birthday card for her big brother who she seems to adore.  She suggested something punny so this is what came to mind.  I love this set from Paper Trey Ink.  The sentiment says “You Mean the World to Me”.  Inside I stamped “Happy Birthday Brother”.  I think that will do the trick.

DSCN3874

Next a birthday card for her niece who she adores.  The card request was pretty open except that she noted that the color green is her nieces favorite.  Apparently I had color block with that request because I spent way too much time trying to go green for this card.  This printed background paper just caught my eye and no matter how hard I tried to make the dominate color green…I just couldn’t do it.  So I settled for aqua…..Somewhere between green and blue.  Butterflies just seemed to be in order here too.  I have kind of a butterfly fetish these days.

DSCN3873

This card made me smile the biggest.  I purchased this Seattle stamp set probably a year ago and it hasn’t seen ink yet.  The card request was for a friend who lives in France.  She described him as “loved his time in Seattle” so this set was the perfect touch.  I had to add a little glitter to those raindrops too.

DSCN3872

Next up was a birthday card for her nieces husband.  Nothing too specific here…just masculine.  That led me to another Paper Trey Ink set called Simple Circles.  Of course now I could go green…..not sure what was wrong with me on the card for her niece but I had no problem going with green here….and a lot of it!

DSCN3870

Lastly a card for the new mom of the new baby mentioned above.  She was described as “totally fun and full of life”.  So a card with bright and happy balloons seemed to be the right answer.  Plus a little bling too!  This one, I admit, I copied from Pinterest.

DSCN3871

I hope you enjoyed those little beauties that I’ve been working on the past couple of days.  I hope my friend does too.  If not I’ll have some great cards for my stash and another reason to play with my supplies some more!

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Other Stamping Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

