No Paper Was Wasted in the Creation of These Cards….

This post is not for the paper cutting squeamish.  You know who you are.  The ones that look at a sheet of pretty printed paper and wouldn’t dream of cutting it.  I used to be that way.  But it wasn’t easy to get over that fear.  This post hits that point dead on.

In the Occasions catalogue (which ends June 2nd!!!) there is an amazing paper pack called Painted Blooms.  It is definitely one of my favorites and it is not being carried over into the new catalog.   I just might have to order a spare!  Inside that pack of fabulous paper is one sheet that could be framed.  And if you look on Pinterest there are quite a few who did just that.

cbd8db1b7a163bdea9fe0dcf5b34d37f

Isn’t that amazing?  It was tempting to follow along but (also on Pinterest) I kept seeing the amazing cards that people created.  I’m much more likely to use the cards than hang this up in my house.  So cards I had to create.

Here comes the scary paper cutting part……One 12 x 12 sheet quickly becomes six 4 x 6 pieces!

Pretty Petals1

I should have spread those out a bit but you can see the cuts if you look real close.  So these pieces of paper then became this!!!

Pretty petals7

Isn’t that just as satisfying?  Now I have a set of beautiful cards to give.  A couple of little things I added….

#1 – using the set “Another Thank You” I filled the white space well with the largest stamp in that set.  I added some pearl accents for interest.

#2 – This saying ” You are amazingly Amazing” comes from the Painted Petals stamp set.  Love that one! For fun on this card I added some punched flowers for dimension.  Using the Boho Flower punch (to be retired :-() I added three little Rose Red flowers with black candy dot centers.  To get the flowers to pop I used a pen to push down the center of them before adding the flower centers.  Like this:

Pretty Petals2 pretty petals4

#3 – Simply just added the sentiment “Friends become our chosen family” from the Painted petals set (This set is not continuing into the new catalog either!)

#4,#5 & #6 – The next three I loved how the paper was essentially the focus.  Very little white space available.  So I just added some sentiments right on top using various paper layer and punches.  All three of these sayings came from the Butterfly Basics stamp set which I’m so excited is carrying over to the new catalog!  This by far my favorite set right now.

For the last card you see a sneak peek of one of my favorite new tools from the new catalog.  The Banner Triple punch doesn’t look like much but if you like to add a banner cut to the end of your paper strips then this punch does away with the crooked cuts for good!  It is fairly easy to use but I can see a tutorial posting coming soon on this one.

pretty petals5 Pretty Petals6

So I mentioned that there was no paper wasted in the creation of these cards and that is true.  After the cards were complete I was left with these scraps.  Not too exciting.

Pretty Petals8

But as with the majority of Stampin’ Ups designer papers they are two sided. The back side of those scraps was much more exciting.

Pretty petals9

With a Blackberry Bliss card base, some coordinating ribbon and a cut sentiment (from the May 2015 Paper Pumpkin kit) this little beautiful came to life.

pretty petals10

So are you cured of being scared to cut your paper?  Seven cards from one sheet….not to shabby!

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Stampin Up Only. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No Paper Was Wasted in the Creation of These Cards….

  1. mach1vn says:

    Leaving a comment on my own post! The Painted Blooms Paper pack is on the Weekly deal this week!!!

Leave a Reply

