Absentee Shoebox Swap

My family and I are heading out for a week vacation this coming weekend and my Stampin’ Up upline is hosting a shoebox swap on Monday evening…..what is a girl to do?  Well I’m just going to be an absentee guest.  Which is nice on one hand in that someone at the swap will be creating my cards for me….but on the other hand I miss out on some fun social/crafting time…and I’m sure wine.

For this swap we were to bring a tag already created for everyone and a card sample along with all the supplies for others to create that same card.  Of course everything had to be current product from the catalog.  I’m so glad that some of my favorites from last year have carried over :-).

First up my tag.  I had to go birthday as that seemed like the most useful tag for most.  That led me to my Celebrate Today set and that fabulous balloon.  I cut one from pool party card stock and I stamped the other in pacific point ink.  Using versa mark ink and a little bit of embossing powder I heat embossed the balloon dots for dimension.  (by the way…using the heat gun on a 90 degree day…not very pleasant!).  I added a bit of school house DSP and some twine.  It was fun making these. I actually made more than I needed figuring that I could use a few myself!

shoebox Carla tag1 shoebox Carla tag

For the card I turned to Pinterest for a little inspiration.  I wanted something simple especially since I wasn’t going to be at the event to provide any guidance.  What I ended up with is something similar to what I saw on the internet using the Flower Patch stamp set.  The colors of Tangelo Twist, Pacific Point and Garden Green are so striking together.

shoebox Carla Card

I did die cut on of the flowers and raise it up with dimensionals.  I hope the gals will like it and find it easy to copy.  When I return from my vacation I’ll have to show you the tags and the cards that I “made” while being absent from the event.

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Stampin Up Only. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

