DIYer in the Making – Project 1

I don’t generally think of myself as a DIY type of girl.  I’m more of a GTTS (Go to the store) kind of girl.  However, I’ve had these little projects piling up and since I’m off work for a couple of weeks I thought I’d tackle them.  The posts over the next few days are going to be mainly my adventure in getting them done.  I’m pretty proud of myself actually.  I’ve upcycled, sewn some curtain panels, refurbished a little rocking chair and even created my version of something that I “almost” bought at the pottery barn for my holiday table this year.  Impressed yet?  Just wait!

First off I started easy.  I recently purchased Little Miss her “big girl” bedding (See…solved by going to the store!) and I had the decorative pillow sham just laying across the back of the rocking chair in her room.  I just needed to go buy a cheap standard pillow to stuff it with, but hadn’t gotten around to it.  When my mom saw the sham she mentioned that she had extra old pillows and I could just use one of those.  Great!  So a few weeks later she brought me a king size pillow….oh….simple answer just became a project.  The king size pillow and the standard size pillow sham laid the floor for a few more weeks.  Could I really cut a pillow?

pillow1

Yes, apparently I can.  I have to say that is a first for me.  It was actually fun to do a little demo work on the pillow.  I took the stuffing from the cut end and refluffed it back into the pillow.

pillow2Then, hold onto your seats….I used a needle and thread to sew the pillow back up!  It isn’t pretty and I’m sure you don’t want me to be the only option around when you need stitches (you’d have a scar for sure) but for the inside of a decorative pillow shame….not to shabby!

pillow3Here is the recycled pillow in the sham.

pillow4Project complete.  Domestic Goddess I am not.  But maybe I’m one step closer.

Next post…..Place setting card holders (Pottery Barn Knock Offs)

About mach1vn

Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Finance Professional and addicted to paper.
This entry was posted in Family Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DIYer in the Making – Project 1

  1. Marcela Ferioli says:

    Wow, good to know. Thanks for sharing this idea.

Leave a Reply

